The Post-14 Mathematics Inquiry

Home page
The Report
About the Inquiry
Press Releases
nieruchomoƛci w Warszawie
Who's involved +

Steering Group members

| Professor Eileen Baker | Professor Sir Christopher Llewellyn-Smith | Sir Michael Lickiss | Dr Gordon Marshall | Dr Sir Thomas McKillop | Professor Sir Gareth Roberts | Susan Singer | Sir Peter Williams |

Professor Eileen Baker

Professor Eileen Baker is Principal of Bishop Grosseteste College in Lincoln. She has been a nominee on the General Teaching Council for England since 2000 and has eight years experience as a member of Her Majesty's Inspectorate. She is an elected or nominated member of a number of bodies with interests in university education and the training and supply of teachers.


Professor Sir Christopher Llewellyn-Smith

Professor Sir Chris Llewellyn Smith FRS is Director of the UKAEA Culham Division, which is responsible for the UK's thermonuclear fusion programme. He has served as Provost and President of University College London (1999-2002), Director General of CERN (1994-1998), and Chairman of Oxford Physics (1987-1992). He is chair of the Advisory Committee on Mathematics Education (ACME).


Sir Michael Lickiss

Sir Michael Lickiss is a chartered accountant, and takes up appointment as Chairman of the new tourism body (which merges the English Tourism Council and the British Tourist Authority) on 1 April 2003. He was the first Chairman of the South West England Regional Development Agency, President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (1990-91), Senior Partner of Grant Thornton (1991-94) and Chairman of the Business Technology and Education Council (BTEC; 1994-2000). He is a Governor of the London School of Economics.


Dr Gordon Marshall

Dr Gordon Marshall took up the post of Vice Chancellor of Reading University on 2 January 2003. He was Chief Executive of the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) from 2000 until the end of 2002. Previously, he was Official Fellow in Sociology at Nuffield College, Oxford, Professor of Sociology at the University of Bath, and has taught at the University of Essex and the London School of Economics.


Dr Sir Thomas McKillop

Dr Sir Thomas McKillop has been Chief Executive of AstraZeneca PLC since May 1999, having previously served as Executive Director of the Zeneca Group and Chief Executive Officer of Zeneca Pharmaceuticals. He held posts at ICI from 1969 until 1983.

He is Vice President of the European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations, Pro-Chancellor of Leicester University, and Chairman of the British Pharma Group and the NorthWest Science Council.


Professor Sir Gareth Roberts

Professor Sir Gareth Roberts has been President of Wolfson College, Oxford since 2001. Prior to this, he spent 10 years as Vice Chancellor of the University of Sheffield. He has two held industrial appointments. He is board member of the Higher Education Funding Council for England, chairing its Research Committee. He is President of The Science Council. He is the author of 'SET for Success', a review into the supply of science and engineering skills in the UK.


Susan Singer

Susan Singer was recently part of the small team assisting Mike Tomlinson in the second phase of his A-Level inquiry. She is retired head of Guildford High School, Guildford, Surrey, and former president of the Girls' Schools Association.


Sir Peter Williams

Sir Peter Williams is Master of St Catherine's College, Oxford, Chairman of the Engineering and Technology Board, Chairman of the UK's National Museum of Science and Industry, a Director of GKN plc, President of the Institute of Physics, and former Chairman of Oxford Instruments plc.



| Terms and Conditions | Help! |
For further information and to make comments please see the DfES website: